See you all-after surgery

Surgery. Tomorrow. Morning. 12-13 hours.

I will be getting surgery tomorrow to remove the cancer bone and surrounding infected areas including muscle and rotator cuff. They will be able to save the elbow and nerves, which I’m very thankful for. The birding may take a little break, but I know I’ll be back soon! I’ve had a great two and a half weeks birding locally like never before. Here’s a timeline of these amazing weeks:

November 19-My lifer Pacific Loon at Quassy Lake. A quick stop at White Mem. afterwords yielded a Pied-billed Grebe.

November 21-Ash Creek Survey, the highlight being a female Redhead

November 22-My lifer Red-headed Woodpecker at Northwest Park in Windsor.

November 23-Another Ash Creek Survey, the highlight being the discovery of the pond at St. Mary’s

November 25-A stop at Hammo, with the highlight being the neck banded Canada Goose

November 26-Thanksgiving Survey! Continuing RB Nuthatch and Gadwall at Ash Creek Main

November 28-IVORY GULL!!!! Cape May. Also Eurasian Wigeon and lifer Swainson’s Hawk

November 29-Great looks at an American Bittern, my lifer Tundra Swans, and an amazing Snow Goose show at Brig.

December 1-Another Ash Creek Survey. Continuing RB Nuthatch.

December 1-Hammo, 6 Baltimore Orioles. Arrival in CC-common Eider, Northern Harrier.

December 2-Big birding day. With the help of “old rusty” we were able to see: my lifer Barrow’s Goldeneye, a female King Eider, my lifer Black-legged Kittiwake, and my lifer Little Gull, plus Reazorbills, great looks at Harlequin Ducks, and great Northern Gannet shows

December 3-Early morning CC birding with many grebes, kittiwakes, and loons.

December 6-A long visit to Ash Creek Open space, highlighted by a late Lincoln’s Sparrow. No RB Nuthatch seen.

December 7-An INCREDIBLE birding day-my lifer Summer Tanager, Rufous Hummingbird, my lifer Ash-throated Flycatcher, and Orange-crowned Warbler

Please see the blog archives for entries on these amazing trips! Also see my New Photo gallery for photos.

I can’t wait to begin blogging again!

Hope everyone is enjoying their holiday season!

-AB

This entry was posted in Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to See you all-after surgery

  1. david says:

    good luck, Alex.

    I am a Zen Buddhist and will light a candle and incense to guide you through.

    You will be birding before long.

    Best wishes,

    David

  2. Deanna says:

    Hi Alex,

    Your new site is awsome! I just read your newest entries–very impressive!

    Will be thinking of you tomorrow and know you’ll come through the surgery just fine. We’ll be in to see you when you’re feeling up to company.

    Lots of love and hugs,

    Deanna

  3. PatriciaBernhard says:

    We have never met, but my day begins by looking for one of
    your wonderful. fabulous. brilliant. passionate, one-of-a-kind
    stories of your finds, your thoughts and your observations.

    I know that today is a long, tough one for you. I also know that
    you have the love and prayers of thousands of people who
    will be rushing to their computers every day to see,

    “I”M BACK!!!!!!!”

    You have the most extraordinary spirit I’ve ever seen, and
    because of that, I believe that wonderful day will not be far away.

    With love and great admiration,
    Patricia Bernhard

  4. underclearskies says:

    Hey Alex,

    Good luck with everything. Hopefully I’ll get to meet you out in the field in the not too distant future.

    Luke Tiller

Leave a Reply

