Strike Out On Mew and Harlequin

Lately, I’ve had some time to do a little chasing. Sunday, I joined up with James Orrico and James Randall to chase the Mew Gull that was being seen in Brooklyn. We arrived and saw people that had had the bird 5 minutes before in a small group of gulls. We spent three hours at the location, walking up and down the walkway, freezing cold only to retire at the end of the day with nothing to show for it, except a pretty nice group of three Purple Sandpipers that were very tame and provided some great photo ops.

Please see my photo gallery for more shots

Today, James Orrico and I drove up to Farminton to try to find the Harlequin that had been seen there the previous day. We saw many looking for it, but after two hours of looking decided to stop for a lunch break. Afterwords we continued, joining other birders including Buzz Devine who had just seen it. We missed it, waited around for another hour, a birder from New York caught a quick glimpse and we continued to wait. After 4 and a half long hours of searching we called a break only when the sun disappeared behind the horizon.

The bad luck I’ve run into would only be predictable after the steady streaks of amazing luck I had in the last half of ’09. So is birding (sigh). Before I go back on treatment, my father and I are going to the cape this weekend and stopping for the Sage Thrasher (if it stays) along the way. Hopefully, the luck will turn up and I’ll go into my next treatment with a good birding streak at the beginning. Lets see!

-Alex

This entry was posted in Connecticut Birding, New York Birding. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Strike Out On Mew and Harlequin

  1. Molly Martin says:

    Hi Alex:

    I’m so impressed with your perseverance to find the Harlequin Ducks and the Mew Gull. You must have been well-layered to withstand the cold. I’ve seen Harlequins down on the NJ shore around Barnegat Light, but never a mew.

    My partner, Michael, and I just signed up for a south Texas birding tour at the end of this month so I’m looking forward to seeing life birds like a Green Jay and a Plain Chachalaca.

    We belong to Cornell’s FeederWatch Project and count birds in both VT & the NJ houses. Do you belong? We’ve got two Carolina Wrens coming to the suet feeder, which is pretty cool.

    Warning: I’m apologizing upfront for the fact that you’ll probably receive a rogue e-mail from me about Trick or Treaters. It’s circling in cyberspace and I can’t kill it. Just delete and hope that when I get Windows 7 installed next week, the above mentioned e-mail will finally disappear.

    Would love to hear from you when you have the time. My e-mail address is: molar56@sover.net.

    Molly Martin
    Brattleboro, VT and Sussex, NJ

Leave a Reply

