Glauc + Local Stuff

Because I’m receiving another surgery tomorrow, and won’t be able to go birding for a bit, I decided to get out and scour the local gulls and waterfowl.

Gadwall

My first stop was Ash Creek where I tallied the usual waterfowl plus a male Gadwall, loosely associating with a group of Red-breasted Mergansers. This is a species I tally around half the time here in season, although the female pintail was nowhere to be found.

Roosting Gulls

I moved onto St. Mary’s where I found very large numbers of gulls roosting inshore and more still offshore feeding on the annual spring plankton source. This is a very fun time of year as finding a rarity in the masses is commonplace. Although, I didn’t find anything unusual, I still enjoyed great views of some of the commoner species.

Ring-billed Gull

Fish Crow

Moving on, I found St. Mary’s pond unfrozen, but nothing of interest there. I next hit Captain’s Cove where I again found very large numbers of roosting gulls (again nothing unusual), 2 Canvasback among the scaup, and a Red-throated Loon that surfaced a little too close, and then realizing its mistake dove, but not before a snapped a picture.

Male and Female Canvasback

Red-throated Loon

After the Cove I hopped on the highway to see the returning Glaucous Gull in Stratford. There were even bigger numbers of gulls and Brant feeding right offshore providing great scope views.

This year's Glauc-2nd cycle

Last year's Glauc-1st cycle

The same bird, interesting, maybe we’ll see it through to adulthood…..

YUM!

All in all a good morning. This blog may be a little quiet for a week or so because of surgery.

-AB

This entry was posted in Connecticut Birding. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Glauc + Local Stuff

  1. Denise says:

    I love your photo of the fish crow! It really captures its feisty nature. Thanks for sharing your birding adventures and best wishes for tomorrow,
    Denise

  2. James says:

    Oh My God That picture of the Red-throated Loon has to got to be the best picture you have EVER taken. It’s incredible!!!! Good photo!

  3. Pingback: Birding Notes and Photos From the Past Week (4/25/10) « Flight of the Scrub-Jay

Leave a Reply

