A Morning at East Rock and other May 1st notes

Scarlet Tanager, East Rock

I joined Nick Bonomo, Brian Webster, James Orrico, John Oshlick, and Paul Desdarjins (at the end) for a really nice morning of birding at East Rock Park in New Haven yesterday.

Nick provides a good summary of the day on his blog here.

It was an enjoyable morning and I saw many FOYs and some great warblers as well!

I then moved over to Sherman and was only able to do half the route as some soccer games were going on. However, I turned up some migrants including a Great-crested Flycatcher, Northern Parula and Black-throated Green Warbler on my street and a few Hermit Thrushes and Gray Catbirds at Sherman. Plus all the regulars like Savannah Sparrow and Red-winged Blackbird.

In the late afternoon, I visited the Birdcraft and found Scott Kruitbosch and Tina Green had found a nice male Canada Warbler right where I had said they would be in yesterday’s post.

I was able to add 11 FOYs on a wonderful day of birding!

-Alex

This entry was posted in Connecticut Birding, Fairfield Birding. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

