Updates (7/13/10)

Killdeer

Well, it’s time for more exciting birding once again! After a tough week battling chemo last week, I’m back up on my feet planning birding trips. Fall migration for many birds, (particularly shorebirds and swallows) has begun. I’m hoping to catch up with some of these species along with more uncommon breeders (such as Least Bittern, Virginia Rail, Black-billed Cuckoo, etc) in the coming two weeks. Also I’m planning on spending an overnight in the Cape as well concentrating on out of range birds on territory. And there have been a lot this year! Clay-colored Sparrow, Alder Flycatcher, Summer Tanager and Blue Grosbeaks are all on territory and singing.

Besides the trips, a lot of my time will unfortunately be spent indoors. Why? Planning Arizona! When planning trips, I try to take a lot of time putting in a lot of detail and research into all my targets to maximize my chance of seeing them. It’s hard work but really pays off in the end! I can’t wait to get out there, to enjoy the west and all its magnificent species. Lifers will be my main targets but I’m really excited by subspecies of birds I’ve already seen, such as Masked Bobwhite and Southwestern Willow Flycatcher. Should be great! (If anyone has any recommendations or questions about the trip feel free to comment)

During my time at the hospital, I’ve found some pretty great sites that I think are worth checking out. World Waders Posterous, is a platform of shorebird news from all over the world. There are some terrific entries there, and it is updated often. Some great stuff about Australian Banded Stilts, Northern Lapwing and Arctic Shorbs are recent postings. Also Don Morgan has started up Birding Northeast Connecticut, with good posts about Angry Ovenbirds, Lesser and Well Know Birding Spots, plus recent findings fill the pages.

Also, check out David Jones’s Shots from the BBC Pelagic along with this one of inside the cabin. The people I can safely “ID” in the shot are Steve Mirick and Ida Giriunas are in the front in the left row. I’m sitting between Brenda Inskeep and Dave Hursh (great people!) on the right, second seat from the front. Cool shot!

Hope everyone along with the birds are managing the heat. A recent shower just went through, although it didn’t provide much relief.

Good Summer Birding to All!

-AB

This entry was posted in Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Updates (7/13/10)

  1. Dave says:

    At least with all this heat in Boston, you’re getting good practice for the weather in Arizona! Mabye turn up the heat in your house to 110 degrees for a few days…That’ll really get you ready!

  2. Deanna says:

    Hi,

    I’m finally back on the computer–had a virus (or viruses) that took a while to get cleaned out–that’s why you didn’t hear from me last week. I didn’t dare send anything to anybody until I was sure my machine was clean.

    Will check out the photos and will hope to see you and Jim before you head to AZ–you’ll love it out there. We became big fans of the desert when we lived in southern CA.

    See you before you head west!
    Hugs
    Deanna

Leave a Reply

