Batting .500 at Milford Point today!

After cross-country practice at school up in New Haven, I received a call from Nick Bonomo about a Gull-billed Tern having been found at Milford Point. A Brown Pelican was found soon after, putting the tally of hurricane-affected southern rarities at four at one time at Milford Point! I was able to convince my dad to make a two-minute stop (literally!) there and, although the Gull-billed Tern was not present the moment I arrived, I quickly notched the Brown Pelican on the bars near the mouth of the Housatonic. Dori Sosensky graciously allowed me to use her scope with which I got great looks at my first CT Brown Pelican.

Not soon after, Charlie Barnard spotted a long-legged Stilt/Avocet type bird at the end of the marsh. Although we couldn’t put a name to it at the time, Charlie was later able to get much better looks and confirm it as a Black-necked Stilt, another first for me in the state!

Not bad for just a few minutes! Ended up missing American Avocet and GB Tern, but happy to get what I did in my short stint there! Thanks for Charlie and Dori for allowing me to use their optics!

Other highlights at Milford Point included 1 Baird’s Sandpiper, 1 Western Sandpiper, a bunch of Forster’s Terns and 12 Red Knots. Wow!

-Alex

This entry was posted in Connecticut Birding, Rarities. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Batting .500 at Milford Point today!

  1. Elaine Abrams says:

    Excellent day!

  2. Dawn Fine says:

    Great birds! congrats.

Leave a Reply

