Paruli-day!

In preparation for tomorrow’s Westport CBC, I spent a good part of today scouting. I did most of the Pine Creek route, then moved over to Ash Creek for a while. In a word, today flabbergasted me. It was definitely my most successful birding day in Fairfield in December characterized by FOUR species of warbler: Nashville, Orange-crowned, Common Yellowthroat and Yellow-breasted Chat as well as other highlights such as Pied-billed Grebe, Peregrine Falcon, Winter Wren, Gray Catbird, Eastern Towhee, Fox Sparrow, both Kinglets, etc, etc. The four parulidae species were definitely the biggest highlight, the excitement of which will certainly take a while to rub off.

The Wood-Warb story basically went like this: Starting at Pine Creek, I immediately made my way up to the landfill. As I was walking up the hill, I thought I heard a chip that sounded like that of a Wood-Warbler and quickly stopped. Not two seconds later a Nashville Warbler flew in, quickly followed by an Orange-crowned. Photos were not obtained of these two, although the looks they gave were pretty darn good. Continuing on, I nabbed two Winter Wrens, one in the vicinity of the landfill and one near the base of the hill. Once down I made a sharp right, meaning to retrace my steps after I reached the Salt Meadow Road entrance. Crossing the small creek, I began to pish in the brush right near that entrance, hoping for a catbird (late cats had been seen here in years before) and instead got a Common Yellowthroat and Yellow-breasted Chat followed by a Gray Catbird. By this point I was absolutely shocked. Amazed. And just a little befuddled It would be a few hours and many more highlights seen before the day came to the end. None, however, matched the quartet of Wood-Warblers, although they were all pretty fun.

Photos below:

Common Yellowthroat

This bird looks like a 1st year female based on the VERY LIMITED extent of black on the face

Yellow-breasted Chat

Sharp-shinned Hawk

American Robin

Northern Harrier

Golden-crowned Kinglet

American Tree Sparrow

Almost seems to be saying "put the camera down and back away slowly and quietly"

-Alex

This entry was posted in Fairfield Birding, Rarities. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Paruli-day!

  1. Betsy Hermann says:

    Hi Alex,

    Loved these birding pictures. BEAUTIFUL!

    Very cold this am at 1 degree. I’ll take an hour or so and do the bird count and hope to see some different birds. Lately we’ve had few birds at our feeders. We just can’t decide why our little pals are not so abundant. Christmas shopping?

    Merry Christmas to all of the Burdo Family.

    Ho Ho Ho

    Betsy and Bruce

Leave a Reply

