Long time

In short, it has been a very long while since my last post. Much of my birding was curtailed for the second half of January due to a cancer-related surgery. As I began to recover, I began to bird outside of the house.

Trying to continue with my renewed Fairfield Big Year effort, I only hit spots in Fairfield. In just a few days, I had sent the total past 75 with such new birds as Ring-necked Duck, Common Merganser, Lesser Scaup, Snow Goose, Green-winged Teal, Double-crested Cormorant and Black Vulture. But I didn’t stop there, adding Sanderling, Dunlin, Eurasian Wigeon, Red-winged Blackbird and Common Grackle in the past couple of weeks. The total now stands close to 90, and almost directly on pace with last year.

With the big year doing well, I also took some time to read some birding-related material and continue planing next month’s trip to California. I hope to put out a couple of book reviews soon on books such as The Birds of Aruba, Curacao, andBonaire and Petrels,  Albatrosses & Storm-Petrels of North America. Stay tuned for those!

Well, that’s pretty much it. Expect more Fairfield Big Year news, California info, and those two reviews soon.

-AB

This entry was posted in Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Long time

  1. I’m glad you are feeling better after your surgery, and that you’re seeing lots of birds too. I hope you have fun planning your trip to California.

  2. Deanna Becker says:

    Hi Alex,

    I’m very impressed with your bird count and species seen in Fairfield! You must have been psyched with the results of your birding trips. Happy to hear you’ll be in CA next month. Let me know where you’ll be–if you’re close to Long Beach I would bet Janice would try to hook up with you for a day.
    I’ll have her check this blog.

  3. Betsy Hermann says:

    Hi Alex,

    So glad the Flight of the Scrub Jay is back. I’ve missed your birding adventures and wonderful photography. Listen to this– Our little town of Rangeley, Maine is number 1 for the entire State of Maine in the Back Yard Bird Count. I’m so excited and proud of this little mountain town.

    Thanks for all that birding education.

    Hugs,

    Betsy and Bruce too

Leave a Reply

