Tree Tuesday II

I was at the tree-filled Wallingford Country Club for my father’s ninth annual charity golf tournament that raises money for the Sarcoma Foundation of America (I was afflicted with Osteosarcoma myself). After dinner, I snuck outside with my friend, Paul, to check out the trees in the vicinity of the parking lot. I ended up seeing four trees already on my list, which were: Eastern White Pine (Pinus strobus), Paper Birch (Betula papyrifera), Pin Oak (Quercus palustris) and Cherry Plum (Prunus cerasifera).

In addition, I saw four ‘life’ trees, which were: European Weeping Birch (Betula pendula), Kousa Dogwood (Cornus kousa), Red Maple (Acer rubrum), and Silver Maple (Acer saccharinum). It was quite difficult to decide on my favorite new species of tree, as I found both the native Silver Maple and nonnative European Weeping Birch to be very cool species.

I will feature the native Silver Maple (Acer saccharinum) in the second ‘Tree Tuesday’ post, and will hopefully be able to post on all the others in turn.

I noted the following about this species

  • bark [on older trees] shaggy with narrow strips loose at ends; even shaggier than Red Maple (A. rubrum)
  • underleaf silvery-white (very cool!)
  • deeply lobed leaves with large teeth
  • pretty large fruit [largest wings of any native maple]

*Anything in the []’s was supplemental information taken from the Sibley Guide to Trees.

Silver Maple grows well in moist soils (like that along river banks), as well as in cultivation, where it grows commonly in yards and along streets. This species can often reach 70′, with the tallest specimen ever recorded at 138′. It is closely related to the Red Maple (A. rubrum) but differs in leaf structure, lack of red color and fruit size and color. This species grows from New Brunswick, west to Minnesota, south to extreme eastern Oklahoma and east to the western Carolinas.

I was able to grab a few photos of this species with my iPhone, which are posted below:

Silver Maple leaf — deeply lobed with large teeth

Silver Maple underleaf — note the silvery-white color in addition to the features listed above.

Silver maple bark — shaggy, with narrow strips loose at ends

-AB

References:

Sibley, David Allen. The Sibley Guide to Trees. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2009.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tree Tuesday II

  1. Helen says:

    Great blog, Alex! I love maples and birches, but prefer Cornus Florida to Cornus Kousa. Lots of dogwood here in VA but there is a fungal disease attacking the trees. 😦

  2. marcy klattenberg says:

    Alex,

    Now that you also into trees, you may want to check out Michael Wojtech’s field guide “Bark”. I attended a workshop at CFPA with Michael last month and learned a lot. Be careful – you may end up like me and have life lists of everything! Good luck. Marcy

Leave a Reply

