Autumnal Disappearance

It seems my lack of postings during the height of fall is becoming a pattern, having occurred last year as well. The truth is, life is busy, and most of my time is taken up with treatment and school. I’d much rather prefer to use what’s left over to devote to time in the field, rather than staring at a computer screen.

That being said, there have been some moments where I could’ve spent some time working on a post, or just thrown up a quick message. Honestly, though, I would’ve but WordPress.com has been so slow lately its been driving me up a wall. I now have to write all of my posts in a word document and then copy and paste them into the blog’s writing space. Photos take much, much longer  than usual to upload, which causes me to tend to avoid writing posts in favor of a more economical use of my free time.

I’ve actually written a couple of the next California posts, but it takes so long to add photos to the posts that I feel like it’s just not worth it. I’ve tried everything I could within the blog space to try to make things faster, but to no avail. I even changed the template, an action I knew wouldn’t increase the blog’s speed, but by then I had no other tricks up my sleeve.

I’m starting to consider searching for a different solution. The only thing that’s holding me back is the fact that I now have three years of archived posts on this website (Oct 2009-Oct 2012) and I don’t just want to leave those posts hanging in cyberspace. I’d really like to find a way to carry them over to a new site, but I haven’t really looked into it yet.

Honestly, I haven’t even asked other WordPress.com users if they’re experiencing the same dilemma. But what’s the use? I think my only hope is to contact the platform and see if they can take a look at it.

Are any of you fellow WordPress users experiencing this problem as well? Do any of you know a way to migrate the blog (and associated posts) to a new platform?

Alex

This entry was posted in Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Autumnal Disappearance

  1. Deanna Becker says:

    I am so sorry to hear about your problems with WordPress. I always thought this was such a great program–loved the photos and your very expressive comments on your birding experiences. I wonder what happened to change all this? Hope you find a solution and are able to salvage your prior years’ blogs. This must be so frustrating for you. Hope you get it figured out soon.
    Love to you, Deanna

  2. Alex, I have a WordPress blog and find that, while slow, it still gets the job done. The problem I had today was that I lost the written material when I tried to insert photos and had to do it over, very annoying. I am not computer savvy and have no ideas. I can only sympathize and ask you not to stop posting.

Leave a Reply

