Closing Out 2014

2014 was a pretty consistent year for me birding-wise. I got out nearly every weekend, enjoyed a nice trip down to Florida in March, a jaunt up to Northern New England with my dad at the end of June-beginning of July, and a good slew of time spent in Cape Cod over the summer and Thanksgiving Break. However, this year was most certainly the most inconsistent for me in terms of blogging.

Over the course of the year, I posted all but twelve times, which is sad. My lack of blog posts is evidence of just how crazy this year has been. When I haven’t been dedicating my life to school and treatment, I’ve been birding, with little time for anything else.

Unfortunately, things are unlikely to get better, at least for the next few months. Although I’m currently a senior in high school, my treatment has unfortunately pushed back my college application process, so that I will now be doing things typical of junior year during the second half of my senior campaign.

In addition to my school and treatment schedules battling for control of my life, the next few months will feature ACTs, APs, and college visits. A lot of my former birding time is likely going to get squeezed out of the picture.

Everything will change in June, however. On June 12th to be exact. In just 173 days from now, I will be graduating high school, and although I’ll still have the college application process to deal with, things will become a lot calmer.

The calm on the school front will proceed into the fall and spring of 2015 and 2016, respectively, where I’ll be doing a gap year. The gap year has been forced by my situation, but I look at it as a blessing nonetheless. My plan is to work and then travel, using my savings to provide for trips to some of the places I’ve always dreamt of visiting, although that’s a long way away, and plans and situations can certainly change. I currently intend to chronologue my journeys over the course of the year right here, which should be a blast.

In the meantime, however (i.e. in the next 173 days), posts will probably be few and far between. I’ve considered even closing the blog ‘for the season’, and ‘reopening’ in June. Although that might be going a little too far, I realistically don’t expect my posting pace to increase.

It’s all about holding my breath from now until June, taking in air whenever I get an opportunity to bird. After that, it’s go time, and the next 14 months after June 2015 will certainly be like none I’ve ever experienced.

However you want to look at it, I won’t be getting much sleep in 2015.

I look forward to getting back on the blogging bandwagon soon! Happy New Year!

-Alex

This entry was posted in Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Closing Out 2014

  1. Donna Coughlin says:

    Thank you for the update! Good luck with the remaining school year and college applications and tests.

    Donna Coughlin, CT

  2. Charlie says:

    You are doing a great job all around Alex. Congratulations on the fine way in which you led the Fairfield Shore birding team on the CBC as well. Happy New Year and my best wishes to you.

  3. m.klattenberg@sbcglobal.net says:

    Happy New Year Alex!!

    It was really good to start out 2015 with a post from you and a whole day of birding with my dear friend Karen Fisk today. We now live in Falmouth MA and border here today. We started with the tufted duck on Salt Pond and ended with a Cooper’s Hawk and mature Baldj Eagle on Ashumet Pond. The eagle was actually standing in about 3″ of water. One had been reported preying on Coot 2 weeks ago. A really enjoyable but cold day. Please keep posting. I for one always look forward to hearing from you! Marcy

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  4. elaine says:

    We will be thinking of you Alex.

  5. Nick Bonomo says:

    Alex, Happy New Year and thanks for the update! I’ll be thinking of you and hoping for the best in 2015. I bet you’re really looking forward to finishing up high school! See you in the field, and be in touch.

Leave a Reply

